The Egoist

From Monoskop
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The Egoist: An Individualist Review was a London literary magazine published from January 1914 to December 1919, during which time it published important early modernist poetry and fiction. In its manifesto, it claimed to "recognise no taboos," and published a number of controversial works, such as parts of Ulysses.

The Egoist was founded by Dora Marsden as a successor to her feminist magazine The New Freewoman, but was changed, under the influence of Ezra Pound, into a literary magazine. Marsden was the editor in the first half of 1914, when it was a fortnightly; for most of its life it was a monthly. Editorship was taken over in July 1914 by Harriet Shaw Weaver. Assistant editors were Richard Aldington, Leonard A. Compton-Rickett, and H. D. When Aldington left in 1917 for the Army, his place was taken by T. S. Eliot. [1]

The magazine published, as serials, James Joyce's first novel, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, and Wyndham Lewis's novel Tarr, along with poetry and criticism by Ezra Pound and T. S. Eliot, with Eliot serving ultimately as its Literary Editor, publishing his own "Tradition and the Individual Talent," and Marsden offering a series on "The Science of Signs," which anticipated in certain ways later semiotic and deconstructive views of language. [2]




Avant-garde and modernist magazines

Poesia (1905-09, 1920), Der Sturm (1910-32), Blast (1914-15), The Egoist (1914-19), The Little Review (1914-29), 291 (1915-16), MA (1916-25), De Stijl (1917-20, 1921-32), Dada (1917-21), Noi (1917-25), 391 (1917-24), Zenit (1921-26), Broom (1921-24), Veshch/Gegenstand/Objet (1922), Die Form (1922, 1925-35), Contimporanul (1922-32), Secession (1922-24), Klaxon (1922-23), Merz (1923-32), LEF (1923-25), G (1923-26), Irradiador (1923), Sovremennaya architektura (1926-30), Novyi LEF (1927-29), ReD (1927-31), Close Up (1927-33), transition (1927-38).