From Monoskop
Jump to navigation Jump to search

IRWIN is a collective of Slovenian artists. Since 1983, IRWIN has been concerned with the art history of Eastern Europe, in particular the ambivalent legacy of the historical avant-garde and its totalitarian successors - in other words, the dialectic of the avant-garde and totalitarianism. Since the 1990s, the group has focused on a critical, iconoclastic engagement with the art history of "Western modernism". They playfully and cryptically juxtapose this with the 'retro avant-garde' of an 'Eastern modernism'. In the 2000s, NSK State in Time becomes relevant: a state without territory that nevertheless issues passports as a "confirmation of temporal space".

It was founded in Yugoslavia in 1983 as the group Rrose Irwin Sélavy, whose members included Dušan Mandič (1954, Ljubljana), Miran Mohar (1958, Novo Mesto), Andrej Savski (1961, Ljubljana), Roman Uranjek (1961, Trbovlje - 2022, Ljubljana) and Borut Vogelnik (1959, Kranj). They came from Ljubljana’s punk and graffiti scene. Together with the music group Laibach, the Scipion Nasice Sisters Theatre, and the design department New Collectivism (Novi kolektivizem; NK), IRWIN is one of the main groups forming the artists’ collective Neue Slowenische Kunst (New Slovenian Art; NSK), founded in 1984. (2023)

See also